Tourism Development Authority

Created by a General Assembly Ratified Bill in 1987, Chapter 950, House Bill 2207 to collect the local tax (via Alamance County Finance Office). Then, in 1988, the TDA formed the Convention & Visitors Bureau (CVB) to market and promote Alamance County’s tourism product. In July 1992, the TDA contracted with the Chamber of Commerce to provide the management for the CVB. The CVB then became a division of the Chamber of Commerce.

TDA Purpose
To oversee the distribution of the county wide 3% occupancy tax from accommodations in Alamance County.

Founding Members of the TDA
Bobby E. Baldwin (Chair) September 1988 – July 1992
Sid Bond September 1988 – February 1989
Walter Kirkpatrick September 1988 – July 1989
Ernest A. Koury September 1988 – July 1992
William C. “Sonny” Wilburn September 1988 – September 1991

Current Board Members
Mark Cryan
Beth Leggate
Amanda Pickard
Stephanie Williams

Alamance County